Something about me

I am a budding fiction writer currently finalising a slight tongue in cheek crime trilogy: Triple Edge – that deals with the linkages between organised crime, the financial institutions of the City of London and politics.

I tend to describe myself as a prolific reader and enjoy reading fiction of many genres but with a tendency towards, crime, thriller, humour and writers of non-anglo-Saxon ethnic backgrounds. I also read non-fiction (politics, media/communication, development, gender and economics), and of course the many articles and data that I read for my book research.

I have always wanted to be a writer. As trainee engineers, I recall sitting in a tree on a construction site with my friend reading books and discussing our common dream to one day become published authors. My professional work has always involved a considerable amount of writing, but taking the time to fulfil the dream of writing fiction has always eluded me. Over the years I have started, paused for all too long intervals (I suppose I am not alone!)

My background.

I am Anglo-Italian and grew up in the UK and subsequently lived in Denmark, France/Switzerland and now in Italy. I started my working life in construction and attended university as a mature student. Much of my post-university work took me to many countries of the world: China; South East Asia; Mongolia; countries of the Former Soviet Union; the Caribbean; and Africa, in particular, South Africa where I spent six months a year over a ten year period. I had first-hand experience of the early years of transition in the Former Soviet Union including dealing with the social impact of closing Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant (Slavutych the town built after the accident)

Apart from my reading interests, I enjoy cooking and experimenting with different cuisines. I have often cooked for up to thirty people (Italian, Chinese, Thai, Danish) and thoroughly enjoy eating in company. I come from a railway family (father, grandfather were station masters and great uncles, engine drivers on the Great Central Railway ) and that has remained in my blood! I frequently prepare projects related to tourist railways.

I strongly believe in empowerment, whether it be the poor in the developing world or youth anywhere. Some of my favourite sayings are “Always look on the bright side of life” and “give dreams a chance“.

As to my private life, I have an Italian wife who is very tolerant in helping me to achieve my writing dreams; a son, a daughter and two stepdaughters, and two granddaughters.

I stumble along in a number of languages (speaking Italian, Danish, French) and grasping text in German, Norwegian and Swedish.

Oh, I almost forgot! I now and then torture my family by making them listen to the Goon Show whilst we are driving on long journeys. I have almost the full set of their shows.

TV series that probably had the greatest impact: Boys From the Black Stuff, Black Adder, Fawlty Towers, Morse, Only Fools and Horses.

Films that I have probably enjoyed most. Amarcord, 1900, Ipcress File,  Italian Job (Michael Cane – I live in Turin), Shirley Valentine, Some Like it Hot, The Odd Couple, Bienvenue chez les Ch’tisSaint-Jacques… La Mecque,Waking Ned Devineand most films with Peter Sellers – especially his earlier works.